NARBERTH

  • narberth_pembrokeshire

Place Category: Feature

Profile
Profile
Photos
Map
Reviews
  • Narberth

    Narberth

    Quirky chic sums up this elegant market town, a hub for independent boutiques, fine foods and a lively arts scene in the heart of Pembrokeshire

    Mentioned in the Mabinogion (the earliest British prose literature, compiling stories from the Welsh oral tradition of storytelling) as the location of the court of Pwyll Prince of Dyfed, Narberth later became a Norman stronghold on the Landsker line which notionally divided Welsh-speaking Wales from the English speaking southern areas of the country. These days, Narberth offers a chic destination for fans of independent boutique shopping, vibrant arts and all that is good for food. With its lively arts scene and great venues, including the Queens Hall and Span Arts, the fact that Narberth isn’t by the sea is no drawback. Browse antique centres and independent boutiques for local art, iron work and textiles, bespoke clothes, and
    gorgeous shoes. Indulge your creativity painting pottery at the Creative Café .  Not much is left of Narberth Castle, but visitors can get a flavour of the town at Narberth Museum housed in the old Bonded Stores. Welsh Wine is gaining a name for itself – see for yourself at Cwm Deri, p66,  vineyard. And while we’re
    on the subject of alcohol, why not check out Caffle Microbrewery, p47. Get out into the fresh air at Canaston Woods or enjoy the waterslides and pools of the Blue Lagoon, part of the Bluestone resort.

    Narberth hosts a popular annual food festival in September and the West Wales Wool Show in October.

    ACCOMMODATION, FOOD AND DRINK

    Plas Hyfryd at the top of the town is a popular hotel choice, as is The Grove offering elegant country house
    accommodation just outside Narberth. You can enjoy B&B at Plas Farmhouse, reputed to be the oldest house in Narberth or stay on a working farm such as Green Grove Farm just 5 minutes from the town. Narberth is a mecca for foodies, with Ultracomida Spanish deli and tapas bar, an award winning butcher selling local meat, and Wisebuys Fruiterers and Fine Foods offering everything from fruit and veg to a great  takeaway coffee. Ice Cream lovers need to head to Fire and Ice for artisan ices, plus a range of Welsh ales and ciders. For café style eating, Plum Vanilla serves organic, homemade food with plenty of vegetarian options. Peppercorn Restaurant and Grill is heaven for carnivores offering steaks and burgers or there’s the Market Square Chop House.

    NEED TO KNOW

    Getting there: Narberth is just off the A40 trunk road between Carmarthen and Haverford West, and on the A487 from Cardigan.

    Parking: Limited on street parking; there’s a car park at Town Moor at the top of the High Street.

    Public Transport: Narberth is on the West Wales line and has a station with trains to Pembroke Dock Carmarthen and Swansea. Regular buses travel to Tenby, Haverfordwest, Cardigan and Carmarthen.

    Useful Contacts

    The Queen’s Hall http://thequeenshall.org.uk/ 01834 861212

    Span Arts http://www.span-arts.org.uk/ 01834 869323

    The Creative Café http://www.thecreativecafe.co.uk/ 01834 861651

    Narberth Museum http://www.narberthmuseum.co.uk/

    Cwm Deri Vineyard http://www.cwm-deri.co.uk/ 01834 891274

    Canaston Woods http://www.woodlandtrust.org.uk/visiting-woods/wood/10023/canaston/

    The Blue Lagoon http://www.bluelagoonwales.com/ 01834 862410

    Narberth Food Festival http://www.narberthfoodfestival.com/

    West Wales Wool Show http://westwaleswoolshow.weebly.com/

    Plas Hyfryd http://plashyfrydhotel.com/ 01834 869006

    The Grove http://thegrove-narberth.co.uk/ 01834 860915

    Plas Farmhouse http://www.plasfarmhouse.co.uk/ 01834 869089

    Green Grove Farm http://www.greengrovefarm.co.uk/ 01834 860614

    Ultracomida http://www.ultracomida.co.uk/ 01834 861491

    Wise Buys http://www.wisebuys-wales.co.uk/ 01834 861880

    Fire and Ice http://fireandicewales.com/ 01834 861995

    Plum Vanilla http://www.plumvanilla.com/ 01834 862762

    Andrew Rees Butcher http://andrewreesbutchers.co.uk/ 01834 861892

    Caffle Brewery http://cafflebrewery.co.uk/ 01437 541502

    The Peppercorn Restaurant and Grill http://www.the-peppercorn.co.uk/ 01834 861778

    Market Square Chop House http://chophouse-narberth.co.uk/ 01834 869944


    OTHER ARTICLES OF INTEREST

    Read our guides here.

    If you’d like to receive up to date local articles and our free monthly digital magazine please fill in the form below.

    Your Name (required)

    Your Email (required)

    Your Postcode (required)

    If you would like to contribute valued content, reviews or articles please contact us

  • No Records Found

    Sorry, no records were found. Please adjust your search criteria and try again.

    Google Map Not Loaded

    Sorry, unable to load Google Maps API.